This morning I had a meeting with potential clients at 9:00am. Yawn. I dragged myself out of bed at the very responsible time of 7:45am, leaving me puh-lenty of time to get ready and leave at 8:40am. I took out the dog, enjoyed a nice cup of tea, and took a shower. When I stepped out of the bathroom, I looked at Mr. T’s alarm clock: 8:35am. Shit!

If there’s one thing I hate, it’s people who are late. And I wasn’t about to become one of them. I ran around the house wide-eyed and panicky, imploring Mr. T to get his stuff together so we could leave (he was driving me to the meeting spot). I grabbed my purse and remembered that my photo album was in my car. I put my purse on the sofa and turned to grab my car keys. Then, I turned Mr. T and gasped, “I can’t find my purse!”

Before he got a chance to answer, I ran up the stairs to the bedroom and started throwing clothes around, trying to find my purse. “Honey,” I cried out from the top of the stairs. “Have you seen my purse? I can’t find it anywhere and we’re going to be late, and you know how much I hate being late. Where is that goddamned purse?!?!”

“Uh, the one you took off your shoulder and put on the couch?” Mr. T replied.

“Stop being funny and help me find my purse!” I yelled from the bedroom.

There was a moment of silence, and then Mr. T replied, “But…It’s here,” with a combination of amusement and concern in his voice. I descended the stairs and found my purse on the couch, exactly where I had left it not five minutes earlier. *sigh*

…And wedding season hasn’t even started yet.

******

Holding myself accountable:  Mr. T and I rode our bikes for 1 hour.  I have been trying to conquer a hill with an elevation change of 500 ft. in preparation for the elevation change of 800 ft. I’ll face on race day, and while I still had to get off the bike and walk, I made it a little less than half way up the hill (a record for me)… Most importantly, I didn’t feel “defeated” when I had to get off the bike.  Another cyclist passed us as I was walking and, concerned for our well-being, he asked: “Do you guys have everything you need?”  I responded: “Sure, everything except air!”  I was able to laugh about my lack of stamina!!  That’s fabulous!!  Now Mr. T wants to do some upper-body weight lifting… If you don’t hear from me tomorrow, it’s because I was unable to get out of bed.  Help… Someone… Anybody???

