I’d like to thank Mel for deflowering my virgin blog. I’m supposed to tell you seven weird things about me, except one of them is not true! Guess which one is false and you’ll become the lucky recipient of more information about me than you probably ever wanted to know. Without further ado, I present “Seven Weird Things About Me”:

1. I have moved to a new home a total of 26 times in my (almost) 31 years of life. My parents have the nomad gene, and I seem to have inherited this exhausting trait. I didn’t even count the times I moved to different dorm buildings while in college! I can pack an entire house in a day and a half.

2. I’m passionate about languages. I speak three languages fluently: Spanish, English, and French. I was pretty fluent in German at one time in my life, but now I’m too lazy to keep up with my studies and I can only converse haltingly. I can also get around in Italian and I took three semesters of Mandarin in college. The only things I remember how to say in Chinese are “My name is…”, “I come from…” and “I want a glass of orange juice”. At least I won’t die of thirst in China.

3. My dream until the age of 15 was to be a professional ballet dancer. And I don’t mean the pink tutu kind of dream; I mean the bloody blisters, puddles of sweat and tears from three hours of toe shoes each day kind of dream. Hard core. My body didn’t cooperate and as soon as I hit puberty my newly formed curves and 5’10” height thwarted my dreams.

4. I haven’t taken a single antibiotic or any other type of medicine (other than the occasional aspirin) since the age of 9 (that’s 22 years!!). I have allowed my body to heal itself on countless occasions, relying on herbal remedies, acupuncture and the power of positive thinking.

5. I took a year off during college to travel through India. I met the most interesting people and visited remote towns where the inhabitants didn’t have power, telephones, or running water. I visited Hindu temples and took a two-week course in the Hindu religion. I fell in love with India’s culture, food, music, and art.

6. I quit drinking coffee cold turkey about four months ago and didn’t get a single withdrawal symptom. One day I woke up and decided that I didn’t like how coffee made me feel or what it could do to my fertility, and that was the end of a decade-long love affair with coffee. I told my body that it was free of all chemical addictions to coffee and that it would feel healthy and balanced without it. It worked.

7. Babies weird me out. I don’t know what to do with them, how to entertain them, or how to quiet them down when they start crying. My biggest fear is to have to baby-sit an infant. However, I feel 100% confident that when I have my own children I’ll be able to handle them just fine. It’s other people’s kids that I have an issue with.

Whew! That was fun! On Monday you’ll find out which of these seven incredibly fascinating facts is actually a fib. Oh, the suspense…

Now I get to tag three people, and the Oscars go to:

Lemon Gloria, Jay Michael Rivera, and Karen Shanley. (My apologies to you if you’d already been tagged.)

