Browsing through the links that lead to my humble little blog, I encountered MsShad, a funny and brave lady who lives in Idaho but dreams of moving to San Francisco (really, who doesn’t?). I was thrilled to get to know one of my readers, yet I was dismayed to discover a complaint about the lack of dog-related postings on my blog.

Not one to purposely alienate my readers, I present to you “It’s a Dog’s Life”. Enjoy!

***********

Meet Checkers. She’s a 15 week old red merle Mini Australian Shepherd. Her mother is a champion agility dog and her father is a champion show dog. Checkers is a champion pooping and peeing machine. But hey, we all have to start somewhere!

Checkers: “Don’t hate me because I’m beautiful.”

Meet Morena. She’s a 2 1/2 year old Ensenada Terrier, the only one of her breed. She was found by yours truly on the side of the highway in Ensenada when she was about three months old, covered with mange, starved to the bone, and suffering from a broken paw. She is now a bright, healthy, loyal and bilingual dog (because it was easier to teach her English than to teach Mr. T Spanish).

Morena: “Yo quiero Taco Bell.”

Impressed by Morena’s language abilities, Checkers decided to sharpen her intellectual skills. She has become quite a voracious reader.

Checkers: “Oh, I’m sorry. Were you planning on ordering from this catalogue?”

When they’re not attending to their intellectual endeavors, Morena and Checkers enjoy hanging out together in the park. Morena loves teaching Checkers new tricks. Here, she’s explaining the force of gravity through a practical exercise.

Morena: “Just let yourself go. I promise it won’t hurt a bit.”

Morena loves to catch the frisbee…

Morena: “Agility champ, schmagility champ… Look at me!!”

… But more fun than catching the frisbee is keeping it away from Checkers.

Checkers: “Come back, black dog. It’s my turn! I wanna play, tooooo…”

At the end of a tough and challenging day, nothing beats a relaxing snuggle on a human’s stomach.

Checkers: “Morena, why is your human smiling so demonically?”

Whew! Rough day. And to think that tomorrow we have to do it all over again. It’s a dog’s life…

